Ad code

1st Single Off Michael Jackson CD To Be With Akon - Check it out

Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliate links. If you choose to purchase after clicking a link, we may receive a commission.

Michael Jackson is getting some company on his next single.

According to reports, the first release from the MJ's "Michael" album will be the long-rumored Akon collaboration, "Hold My Hand."

The song was leaked in an unfinished form back in '08 – was destined for what would become Akon's third album, "Freedom." But according to sources, Jackson's estate included a handwritten note naming "Hold My Hand" as the first single off the late King of Pop's next release.

"The world was not ready to hear 'Hold My Hand' when it leaked a couple years ago. We were devastated about it,"
Akon said in a statement,
"But its time has definitely come; now in its final state, it has become an incredible, beautiful, anthemic song. I'm so proud to have had the chance to work with Michael, one of my all time idols."
Akon wrote an emotional statement via his Tumblr account.

"in 2007, i co-wrote a song called 'Hold My Hand' with Akon. a good friend and dope engineer, Exit Goodchild made it sound like magic,"
he posted on Friday.
"my idol, MJ recorded it and made one of my lifelong dreams come true. It was slated to come out…what happened next the whole world knows. Its now 2010, and although the circumstances are bittersweet, i am still honored and proud that 'Hold My Hand' will have its day in the sun. grateful."

Check out the song below that we are assuming is to be revised for the "Michael" album.

Jackson and Akon had previously collaborated on a remix of "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'" for the 2008 reissue of Jackson's "Thriller." They were reported to be working on original music for some time before Jackson's death in 2009.

The rest of the "Michael" album will reportedly feature eight other new tracks from the King of Pop. The track list, includes the controversial "Breaking News," which leaked last week and grabbed headlines amidst speculation (some from Jackson's own family) that it hadn't actually been sung by the music icon.

The album will feature two collaborations besides the Akon duet: "(I Can't Make It) Another Day" with Lenny Kravitz and "Monster" with rapper 50 Cent.

"Hold My Hand" is set for release on Monday, November 15; "Michael" is slated to hit stores on December 14.

Full track list for "Michael":

1. Hold My Hand (featuring Akon)
2. Hollywood Tonight
3. Keep Your Head Up
4. (I Like) The Way You Love Me
5. Monster (featuring 50 Cent)
6. Best of Joy
7. Breaking News
8. (I Can't Make It) Another Day (featuring Lenny Kravitz)
9. Behind the Mask

Is it us or the song titles are just a bit gimicky, ya think? smh

R.I.P Michael Jackson

Post a Comment